Lovebox II – Doves 1, Groove Armada 0

Just out of curiosity, is it true that Groove Armada organised Lovebox? Because they certainly took advantage of it by not playing that many hits. I know their ‘greatest hits’ album fairly well and I only recognised a few songs in the set. The singer was absolutely exceptional, great moves, incredible voice and interesting adrogynous look. Pumping out new tune after new tune. Withdrew for a bit. Then came back. They played a little bit of At the river. OK. Then they played a blasting great Superstylin. The crowd thought, YEAH, the party’s happ’ning now! Everyone’s skanking and jumping! Light show bonanza!

But no! Right after that… it ended. No Get Down. How disappointing. I also overheard others muttering ‘…they didn’t play I See You Baby’. Was really miffed as I had been looking forward to that hearing them play Get Down all weekend. That song isn’t even that old! Why did they leave it out?

Doves were before them and they were great. Again, not crushed like sardines, and we got a super good spot right at the front. They played There Goes The Fear at the end. It’s also nice to hear them reprising a few tunes from their Lost Souls album. Can’t believe it was all those years ago.

One response to “Lovebox II – Doves 1, Groove Armada 0

  1. David Jones

    I felt the same with regard to content? I’m very pleased you thought so much of the singer as Becky is my daughter & I was & am very proud of her, and was blown away on the nite.

    Cheer’s David.